Home » Instagram Vanish Mode: How To Enable/Turn OFF In iPhone
How To

Instagram Vanish Mode: How To Enable/Turn OFF In iPhone

Instagram Vanish Mode

I don’t find it safe to chat with anyone on these apps in this world of many social media and chatting apps. As a huge travel geek, I often use the Instagram app to chat with new people for collaboration. Also, I don’t wish anyone could see my Instagram chat. Hence, I used to wipe out each message one by one. 

At the beginning of the year, Instagram added a new feature called Vanish Mode for those users who automatically delete the entire chat once the conversation is over. Snapchat already has the automatically disappearing chat message feature. 

What Does Instagram Vanish Mode Mean?

Instagram has a new Vanish Mode function which allows users to automatically erase chat if the conversation is made from both sides. The user has to turn ON Vanish Mode in Instagram, and the app will automatically delete the entire chat without selecting any message. 

Currently, Instagram’s Vanish Mode works only with one conversation. It means you cannot enable Vanish Mode while chatting in groups. Once the chat is deleted automatically by Vanish Mode, you can get it back. 

How To Enable Vanish Mode In Instagram on iOS Devices

Note: Make sure that the Instagram app is updated to the latest version. To check, go to App Store and check for the update. 

  1. Open the Instagram app on your iPhone.
  2. Open the chat with the person. 
  3. Once you are in conversation, go to the bottom of the chat and swipe up to turn ON Vanish Mode.
  4. Once you swipe up, you will see the message that you are in Vanish Mode. The chat background will turn black, and emojis will fall out.
  5. At the top, you will also see the option to Turn Off Vanish Mode.

Now you chat in Vanish Mode. When you left the conversation, the message that you sent in Vanish Mode will get disappear. But the older message will remain to be there. 

Can I Take Screenshot In Instagram Vanish Mode?

Of course, you can take a screenshot of the chat while chatting in Vanish Mode, but the app will inform the recipient that you have taken the screenshot of the chat. 

Can I Report Chat Messages In Vanish Mode On Instagram?

Once you start the conversation in Vanish Mode, the message remains with the app for 14 days. Hence, you can also report those chat messages. 

Instagram Vanish Mode Not Working? How To Fix It

We have seen that many users are reporting that the new Vanish Mode in Instagram is not working. If you are also struggling with the same problem, you can uninstall the app and install the latest version from the App Store. 

Is Instagram Vanish Mode Safe? 

Nothing is safe until you share your personal data. It means your messages will get disappear when you turn on Vanish Mode on Instagram. But still, the recipient can take a screenshot of your chat. Although, you will get the alert that the recipient took the screenshot. Still, you need to take care while sharing any personal photos and videos. 

Feedback

Have you started using the new Instagram Vanish Mode? What are your thoughts about it? Would you mind sharing with us in the comment section? 

About the author

mm

Vineet Maheshwari

Vineet Maheshwari is a passionate blogger and relationship oriented digital marketing consultant with over 10 years of experience in SEO, PPC management, web analytics, domain investing, affiliate marketing and digital strategy. He has helped high tech brands connect with customers in an engaging manner, thereby ensuring that high quality leads are generated over time.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment